Exploring The North East Through Parks and Trails: Blackstone River State Park and Lincoln Woods State Park

After my move, my mom and sister left on an early Saturday morning to start the drive to Nashville, where my sister lives. That gave me the whole weekend to start exploring my new home, and as we know, with COVID-19, the best way to safely do that is be outside and away from others. 

After grabbing coffee that morning, I took the girls to Blackstone River State Park in Lincoln, Rhode Island. I didn’t really know what I was walking into, but as I pulled into the parking lot this is what my face did: 😍.

At this point, it was peak season for fall foliage, and being near all of the fall colors, the water, and some Rhode Island history made me swoon. 

Within the area I was at, there was a museum and outdoor educational exhibits, places for people to fish and canoe/kayak, a bike trail, and an old mill that had been converted into lofts. Although the area was busy, everyone respected each other’s space and were very kind by saying “good morning” or “have a good day” to those they passed.

On Sunday, I wanted to get back outside and enjoy the fall weather, so I took the girls to Lincoln Woods State Park. This park was busier than Blackstone River State Park, but still offered all visitors space to walk, hike, and fish.

This park is the perfect spot for everyone because it offers so much, including: walking, jogging, hiking, picnicking, boating, baseball, swimming, fishing, and horseback riding. I’m also told it’s a good spot in the winter for ice fishing, ice skating and snowmobiling.

Trip Planning Recommendation: If you’re looking for places to walk, hike, or jog that have both water and woodsy features, add these two places to your list!

If you haven’t yet, read the first post in the Exploring The North East Through Parks and Trails series. 

Be sure to check back soon as I continue this series on my outdoor adventures. Since I started this series, I’ve also added these parks and trails to my list:

2 thoughts on “Exploring The North East Through Parks and Trails: Blackstone River State Park and Lincoln Woods State Park”

Leave a comment